Wikiflection

March 9, 2008 at 4:52 pm (wikis)

My own exploration, participation and collaboration in the creation of wikis with my peers has proven to be invaluable professional development.  It serves as more proof of the invaluable nature of self-directed inquiry and constructivist learning not only for students but also for their teachers.  For me, wikis, even more than blogs or social bookmarking, demonstrate the importance of collaboratation as we negotiate content, not only for our own professional learning and the potential for teaching and learning in our classroom, but also in the context of how the proliferation of web 2.0 has affected the nature of the availability, organization and creation of new information, and consequently knowledge, in our culture.

When using a wiki, a presentation or virtual seminar is no longer about demonstrating new knowledge and discussing it.  Instead, it is about negotiating the content and the meaning of that content.  The process is just as important, if not more so, than the outcome.  To use a cliche, “the journey is the destination.”   

On the one hand, I feel guilty that I complete the bulk of my web 2.0 exploration on the weekend before the Monday it is due.  However, on the flip side of that, I love that I am able to reflect on information that I have read over the course of the week leading up to the weekend that has come through on my blog reader.  In a sense, I feel like I am a “citizen journalist” contributing to the the global discussion of web 2.0.  Just as “the experts” wrestle with the place of these concepts and ideals in education, so do I. 

I think that this is the first time in this course where I really have seen for myself, experienced and participated in a situation where I fully understand the benefits of collaboration using social software and the benefits that social computing affords.  It is not that I didn’t understand before because I feel that I did.  Rather, I think that the immediacy of interaction with people via the wikis reinforces the learning of the wiki tool faster than the others.  It could also be reflective of the culmination of learning up to this point: build blog; explore photo sharing, video sharing, social bookmarking, podcasting, virtual libraries and now wikis.  I don’t think I would have understood wikis earlier in the course without the foundation and experience of the other tools. 

3 Comments

  1. Val said,

    So well put Arlene. The ability to collaborate is amazing. Not only with each other as professionals but with students and in small or large groups. I too see this tool as the one with the greatest application to the classroom in an immediate way. I too spend a lot of time on the weekend prior to the Monday morning bell, looking at the tool of the week, but with the collaborative assignment, this has allowed us to explore wiki’s over a longer time frame. It truly is a useful, relevant tool.
    Cheers
    Val

  2. Katie Bell said,

    Arlene,
    I had the same feelings about collaboration- I think that wikis are such a great tool to connect people and share thoughts, ideas and even to find answers to questions. I have found it to be a really effective tool to continue my own learning. Katie

  3. Ronda said,

    Hi Arlene,

    I too, have found that the immediacy of the interaction with people on the wikis has reinforced learning about the tool much faster than other web 2.0 tools. Because of this interaction, I feel like I have become quite comfortable with wikis in a shorter period of time. I can’t wait to use this tool with teachers and students!

    Ronda

Leave a Reply

