For Podcast Producers

February 17, 2008 at 3:36 pm (podcasting)

If you don’t have a microphone, headset or other audio recording capability, gcast.com lets you call in toll free and record your audio which is then saved for you even from Canada!  When you log in, you can access your file online.  I learned about gcast in Diane Chen’s SLJ article “Podcasting with No Dollars” (March, 2007).  In it she describes what she did with her students using her cell phone! 

On their wiki, the Disruptive Innovators have used two audio creation tools where you can record directly to a web intervace: evoca and voki exemplified here.  This prevents having to download and convert the Audacity file using a LAME converter, which adds an extra step.  However, technically these aren’t podcasts because you can’t subscribe to them because they don’t have an RSS feed.  I wonder if they would appear in a blog aggregator like Bloglines.  I also wonder if these are actually a different tool similar to Voicethread.  I will have to investigate further.   

I thought I would give gcast a try so I uploaded the same audio I tried on Switchpod and publicized at Odeo.  It is accessible through my gcast page or you can Subscribe From Here.  Unfortunately, the embed feature didn’t work and there was nothing about gcast in WordPress FAQ.  Gcast help didn’t offer any suggestions for WordPress users. 

One of the most important things to do after recording the audio and publishing it online is to share it with the world!  It is also possible to create, find and share with PodOmaticPodcast Central is another directory to submit your podcast. 

1 Comment

  1. Linda said,

    Thanks for the suggestion for gcast.com – I was wondering how my students would podcast, since we have no microphones on our computers. Now I have an option!

Leave a Reply

