Embedding YouTube Video in a Blog Post

February 2, 2008 at 6:46 pm (video)

I’ve often wished that I could find the video “I’ve Got My Mind Set On You” by George Harrison (Cloud Nine, 1987).  What I liked about it was the two messges–one from the video and one from the song. 

I did a search for it in Yahoo Video Search and there it was!  After three attempts to embed the video to no avail, I thought I would try one more time and it worked! 

However, then I started thinking about copyright and copyleft and copy this and copy that and realized–I can’t post this!  Even though I’m trying to be humorous, I do realize the seriousness of this issue.  Ian Jukes talks about this in his blog The Committed Sardine where he links to David Pogue’s Blog article The Generational Divide in Copyright Morality.  Pogue describes how shocked he was at how young people don’t have a problem downloading a variety of material that infringes on copyright.   (Incidentally, I found a Pogue presentation at Web 2.0 (Videos/PPoints) which was originally a TED Talk.  Very interesting if you have 22 minutes to spare.)

Then I started looking at some of the YouTube videos.  I found Baz Luhrmann’s “Wear Sunscreen” video, another favorite of mine.  I then searched Edmonton and found swacks of Oilers footage.  I found the opening song for Kalen Porter’s show at the Myer Horowitz that I attended in the fall.  I just went to Michael Buble at Rexal Place so searched that.  The first hit was a link to The Official Michael Buble YouTube Channel.  I guess if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!  But along with it, you guessed it, a whole bunch of video taken during concerts. 

What do the YouTube officials have to say about copyright?  Well, at the Copyright Infringement Notification page it explains what to do if your copyright has been infringed upon, mainly let YouTube know and they will remove it.  The Copyright section of the Help Center also answers many copyright questions.  Basically, if you’re created it from scratch then you’ve got nothing to worry about. 

So, instead of trying to find something that doesn’t go against copyright, I uploaded a short video of my polar bear watching adventures.  Enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. Katie said,

    I know tha copyright issues are huge especially for YouTube, but when I first got an account, I had so much fun searching for tv shows, videos etc. from long, long ago! Some are still on, but I was like you- I enjoyed looking at a few of my favs from my youth!

    Katie

Leave a Reply

