Introduction: Why Did I Choose WordPress?

January 20, 2008 at 7:55 pm (blog)

I really like the user interface for Google’s Blogger/Blogspot.  I like the colors and simplicity and it seems very intuitive – what ever I need is right there at my finger tips and easy to find.  However, since I have used Blogger/Blogspot, I thought I would try something different.  I’ve visited a travel blog and the TL-DL blog that used WordPress so I thought I would give it a try.  My first impression was that WordPress is a more “mature” blog service because of the font and colors (blue and white) and the tone that they set.  I didn’t find it as intuitive but that could just be because the links or tabs weren’t set up the same as Blogger.  I think once I have some practice I will get over this.  Had I started with WordPress, I think the situation would be reversed.  I just have to be flexible and problem solve just as we expect our students to.  This process illustrated for me what Valenza means about doing the teaching as it is required.  For example, when I click on the blogroll tab, the first thing I see is a definition of what it is before I go about building one.  This is how I learned about widgets.  More on this later.

 

Leave a Reply

